National Informatics Centre has developed these Guidelines as an initiative under the National Portal of India Project. Development of these guidelines involved an extensive consultation process involving representatives from National Informatics Centre and various other Indian Government Departments, at the Centre and State levels. Established and recognised Guidelines of other countries as well as International bodies like ISO and W3C have also been referred to, while drafting these guidelines.

    The draft guidelines underwent an elaborate process of review and consultation by the concerned committees (as indicated below) and were also circulated to several Departments for their feedback, which have been duly incorporated.

    These Guidelines have been reviewed and enhanced by a Sub Group constituted by the Content Advisory Committee of National Portal of India ( The Sub Group comprises of the following members :-

    • A.K. Srivastava, Principal Secretary (IT), Meghalaya
    • Dr G.D. Badgaiyan, Secretary, Rajiv Gandhi Foundation, New Delhi
    • Neeta Verma, Senior Technical Director, National Informatics Centre
    • Lekha Kumar, Director, Dept. of Admin. Reforms & Public Grievances
    • Renu Budhiraja, Director, Department of Information Technology
    • Alka Mishra, Technical Director, National Informatics Centre

    The draft of this document, as finalised after incorporating the suggestions of the Sub- Group, has been approved by the Content Advisory Committee, an Inter-Departmental Committee at the National level looking after the policy making and management of content for the National Portal of India. The composition of the Content Advisory Committee as on 20th August 2007 is as follows:-

    • D.V. Singh, Additional Secretary, Dept. of Admin. Reforms & Public Grievances
    • R. Chandershekhar, Additional Secretary, Department of Information Technology
    • Dr. B.K. Gairola, Director General, National Informatics Centre
    • R. Sridharan, Joint Secretary, Planning Commission
    • N.K. Sinha, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Human Resource Development
    • V. N. Gaur, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs
    • B. B. Tyagi, Joint Secretary, Ministry of External Affairs
    • P. D. Sudhakar, Joint Secretary, Department of Corporate Affairs
    • A.K. Saxena, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Statistics & Programme Implementation
    • Ajay Kumar Sawhney, Joint Secretary, Department of Personnel & Training
    • C.K. Mathew, Principal Secretary, IT, Government of Rajasthan
    • Leena Nandan, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Tourism
    • D.N. Narsimha Raju, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas
    • Rinka Dugga, IT Secretary, Andaman & Nicobar Islands
    • Rajendra Kumar, Secretary, IT, Government of Delhi
    • Ajay Seth, Secretary, IT, Government of Karnataka
    • Neeta Verma, Senior Technical Director, National Informatics Centre
    • Lekha Kumar, Director, Dept. of Admin. Reforms & Public Grievances
    • Rakesh Verma, Director, IT, Government of Punjab